Happy Birthday, Brighter Side! 5 Highlights from the Past Year

It’s hard for me to believe it was a year ago that I published my first blog post.  When I hit the “publish” button for In the Moment, The Brighter Side of Life was born.  To be honest, I didn’t really know what my blog’s focus would be – just that I needed to write, and the writing needed to reflect my “glass half full” perspective on life.

What’s kind of funny is that it felt like a big “reveal” for me… publicly acknowledging I’m a positive person, and actually writing from that perspective.  The reason it’s funny is that anyone who knows me knows that I generally look on the brighter side of things – but I think for years I’d been afraid to come across as a Pollyanna.  (See my blogger friend Dawn’s great post “Not Just A Pollyanna!” on her wonderful blog, Choosing the Better Life – I know she can relate to how I feel on this!).

So here it is, folks: like Dawn, I’m not a Pollyanna.  Seeing the brighter side is a choice.  I’m not in denial about difficult, heart-wrenching days/situations/relationships in life.  Instead, I choose to look for the good in people and situations whenever possible.  And it’s always there – sometimes you just have to dig a little deeper to find it.

(Mind you, it’s tougher on some days than others.  Today I felt very “off” and cried and ranted for no apparent reason.  But I digress).

Happy Birthday to The Brighter Side of Life!!!

This blog has turned out to be my little bit of sanity in the chaos of life – so I’m grateful for it and am taking the opportunity to wish it a very happy birthday!  And now, I’d like to say a big thank you to all of you who’ve been following my blog for the past year – or the past few moments.  It’s meant a lot to have you on this journey with me as I sort out all the stuff in my head.  And though I’ve recently started a parenting-focused blog, The Brighter Side of Parenting, stay tuned – I’ll still be posting lots on The Brighter Side of Life.

And now, here’s a brief highlight of five of my most popular posts from the past year, in no particular order.  Enjoy!

Popular Posts

The Small Stuff Challenge (Part 1)

In the busyness of life, sometimes it’s hard to be ‘in the moment’ and enjoy the small stuff.  But it’s often the smallest things that are most rewarding, reminding us that life is not meant to be lived on auto-pilot. I challenge you to take a few moments to celebrate the small stuff.

When You Reach the Fork in the Road

Stuck at a fork in the road?  Often we push forward through life, making decisions without taking the time to listen to our inner wisdom.  But you don’t need to have everything figured out right now.  Take a single step forward.  The answers will come.

My Biggest Fear

As part of Jeff Goins’ 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge, I was challenged to take a public risk with my writing.  eeek!  So I exposed myself (no, not in the physically naked sense) and shared my biggest fear, the one I’ve struggled with my entire life.

Questions of a Scared Six-Year-Old

My son periodically stumps us with mind-bending questions.  This night was no exception as I scrambled to answer his concerns about natural disasters, God, angels, ghosts and the start of Earth.

The Best Day (part 1)

You know those rare, special moments when all seems right with the world?  When you feel absolute, pure happiness?  In the past I’ve encountered such wonderful, unexpected moments after intense personal challenges.  This particular moment came on the heels of one of the toughest and most rewarding challenges I’ve faced: backpacking the West Coast Trail.

(Parts 1 and 2, slightly condensed, also appear on Bucket List Publications: Stumbling Upon Bliss on the West Coast Trail).

Oh, and you know how I said I was highlighting five posts from the past year?  Hah!  Here’s a sixth, just for the heck of it!

Rekindle Your Childlike Wonder

Remember when you were a child, when using your imagination was a natural state of being?  When each day was filled with possibility?  Children don’t impose the limits on themselves that adults do.  What if we took some time to peel back the heavy layers we carry, and allowed ourselves to imagine what we’d do if there were no limits?

So… what is YOUR favourite post from The Brighter Side of Life?  What would you like to see more of?

About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Children, Inspiration, Life, Marriage, Motherhood, Parenting, Purpose, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Happy Birthday, Brighter Side! 5 Highlights from the Past Year

  1. Happy Birthday to the Brighter Side of Life! I’m so glad to be in the same, positive company you!
    Looking forward to reading the older posts!

  2. Therese says:

    Happy birthday! I love the “fork in the road” one! 🙂 Looking forward to many more posts to come!

    • Christine says:

      Thanks, Therese! As I created that post I reminded myself that I need to BREATHE and realize I don’t need (and won’t be able to) see the whole path in front of me. We need to let go of the illusion of control, right? xo

  3. karen@dundaswoodwindows.ca says:

    Way to go Christine!!! I can’t believe a year has passed. Keep up the good work!

  4. jennlaurent (LiveThroughTheHeart) says:

    Congratulations on one year of sharing yourself with your beautiful blog posts!

  5. Happy belated Birthday, Brighter Side!!! As I’m slowly getting caught up on blog-reading, I happily hunkered down this afternoon to see what Brighter Side had been up to. I smiled as I read your birthday title, thinking how wonderful this celebration must be for you. I nodded as I read your first paragraph. Easing into the second paragraph, the nodding was joined by some “mmm-hmmms” cuz I was just so feeling you. And then, I erupted in laughter when I saw your mention of me and the Polyanna post!! We really are in sync (and thanks for the kind mention). This was a lovely post and I look forward to another year of seeing the Brighter Side of Life with you!

  6. Jerrica says:

    Thanks for posting this.. It’s been a pleasure to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

