Feeling Cranky? Snap Out of It!

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things. ~ Robert Brault

You know those days where the least little thing annoys you?  Where it takes nothing to set you off?  That’s what my last week has been like, on and off.

Yes – I’ve been cranky lately.  Not hormonal, not particularly angry with anyone, just really grumpy.  And it’s weird, because I typically see the silver lining pretty easily.

But lately, grrrr….

So, it’s time for a reality check.  Instead of stewing about things that have been irritating me, it’s time to give my head a shake and look at the great stuff in my life.  And there’s so much of it.  I used to do this daily, but lost track of it over the past little while.

So here are some of the things I’m grateful for today:

– My six-year-old recently telling me he’d like to marry me
– Yesterday’s challenging yoga class
– Great neighbours
– Cooler weather the last couple of days
– The yummy juice my husband and I have been making.  Today: kale, parsley, carrots, lemon, apples, beet, cucumber.  (Thankfully, it tastes better than it sounds)!
– An upcoming family reunion where my boys will have the chance to meet lots of their relatives
– The recent chaos that my littlest one has been bringing to our days, because it means he’s active, inquisitive and healthy
– An upcoming collaboration I’m really excited about
– Our beautiful and affectionate cat, Bella

And many, many other things.

It’s amazing.  When I take the time to really think about things I’m grateful for – big or small – it snaps me out of a nasty mood and shifts my perspective.

Gratitude.  It’s an awesome thing.

And, importantly, thank YOU for taking the time to read this – it means so much!

What are YOU grateful for today?

About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Marriage, Motherhood, Parenting, Purpose, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Feeling Cranky? Snap Out of It!

  1. I really loved the quote and had to share it on Twitter – hope you don’t mind!? Wonderful post, thanks for the reminder! 🙂

  2. ualentina says:

    Just have spent a day by the seaside with my family, and it’s was pure 100% relax time, which was I needed most! The sun, the sweet music of the waves, the infinite blue sea… Yeah, I do agree that little everyday things are the “big” ones when we have time to (re)discover them and are conscious enough to understand that these are the most important things in life! Great post!

    • Thanks so much, Valentina!

      Ah, that sounds like bliss! So glad you had such a beautiful day. And spending it outdoors with people you love… it doesn’t get much better than that. We need those restorative moments, particularly when things get chaotic. Great that you recognized the beauty in it.

  3. Hi this is my first time on your blog and I am enjoying the positive energy that you exude. I laughed at the part where you said that your six year old said that he would like to marry you. Awesome!

    Thanks for sharing your list of gratitude!

  4. therese says:

    You DO have a beautiful kitty! Love her!

    Today I am grateful for the health of my body… for the fresh mountain air… for swimming in the wonderful lake water and playing with my two dog-children in the sun.

    Oh, and for ice cream!

    xoxo

  5. galenpearl says:

    You are so right. Just taking a minute to list things we are grateful for softens our hearts and soothes our ruffled feathers. I’m going to go do that right now. Thanks.

  6. ohmahgosh your cat is gorgeous! i’m a sucker for the fluffies. i have been super irritated over little stuff this whole week, too….so i’m grateful the weekend is (almost) here, that it’s sunny and cooler, that i might actually get a full day off with no appointments or chores….and for new experiences;)

  7. mindfuldiary says:

    Gratitude works every time! 😉 Thanks for this great post.

  8. Christine says:

    What a good way to snap out of it! You are right, there is so much to be thankful for. I like your idea of making a list. I get my children to say one thing they are thankful for every Thanksgiving and it’s usually met with eye rolling (which makes me laugh because we used to do the same to my mother) but everyone goes around the table and it’s actually really nice. But you’ve motivated me to do it more than once a year.

    • Thanks so much Christine! You made me laugh with the eye rolling thing. Actually, we had the same Thanksgiving tradition growing up. Each person around the table would say something they were thankful for. And you’re right… it can feel hokey as a kid, but it IS really nice. Each year at least one person would be thankful we were all spending time together. 🙂

      I’m feeling tired this afternoon, and your comment has reminded me to take my focus away from that and think of things I’m grateful for – thanks!!

Leave a Reply

