Busting Out of My Comfort Zone: Hot Yoga and Writing

I’m not typically drawn to intense heat.  And I’m definitely not the person who waits anxiously for the hottest, stickiest weather of the summer.  So I’m not sure why, for some reason, I feel drawn to hot yoga right now.  But I do.  I tried it for the first time a few days ago.

Wow.

I didn’t know I could sweat that much.  Really.  I knew it was going to be intense when I looked down at my feet and the tops of my toes were sweating.  That was within the first 10 minutes of the class.

Do you remember the last time the tops of your toes sweat?  No.  Exactly.

Anyway, streams of sweat aside, it was a great class.  It was challenging and required all of my mental and physical focus.  Just what I needed to clear my mind of day-to-day clutter.  Afterwards I felt tired but invigorated, and mentally calm.

(And hot.  My face resembled a tomato for at least an hour after class.  But I digress).

During the class our instructor provided us with a powerful quote:

“There is no growth in your comfort zone, and no comfort in your growth zone.” ~ Unknown

To stretch beyond a comfort zone is to allow yourself to learn, make mistakes, look ridiculous and feel embarrassed.  And grow in the process.  It’s humbling.

As I worked through the poses, I sweat my way through my comfort zone: I didn’t really know what I was doing, I didn’t look centered and graceful (one time when I glanced at myself in the mirror, I actually looked angry!), and my breathing was far from controlled.  But I pushed through the class – and a few insecurities – and I’ll do it again.

And, starting today, I’m pushing past other old boundaries:

I’ve joined Jeff Goins’ 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge.

This is a big one for me.  It means actually calling myself a writer.  No more, “oh, sure, I like to write” or “I really enjoy blogging when I can.”  Nope.  Now it’s official.

Day 1 – Call yourself a writer.

Sound easy?  Hah, not so much.

Lots of insecurities pop up.  Who am I to say I’m a writer?  And what makes a writer, anyway?  I’m not an academic, I’m not “high brow,” I’m not widely published.  I’m just me.  Yep.  Me.  Writing about my thoughts and experiences.

But I’m declaring it anyway.

I AM A WRITER.

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes as the challenge continues.  Hopefully I’ll develop some great writing techniques, but regardless, one thing’s for sure – I’ll grow in the process.

How about you?  Ready to face vulnerability and take on a new challenge?
You can do it!  I’d love to hear about it.  Comment and inspire other readers!

About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Purpose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busting Out of My Comfort Zone: Hot Yoga and Writing

  1. mindfuldiary says:

    Hot yoga sound interesting. Have also been thinking to start in yoga class but have not pushed myself yet. Thanx for inspiring me.
    It is wonderful, that you dare to stand by what you like to do, to write. Even more stand by what you are and say it out loud -a WRITER.

    • I’m really enjoying yoga! Although I’m fairly new to it, I find it really helps ground me and clear my head. It’s definitely worth checking out sometime!

      Thanks so much for your comment about writing. It was actually tough to declare myself a writer… but empowering at the same time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

