The Small Stuff Challenge (part 3)

Lately I’ve been thinking more about the little stuff, the simple stuff we can do to more fully experience life, brighten someone’s day or pull ourselves out of a bad mood.

In part 1 and part 2 I presented you with a challenge: to actively notice and (gasp!) take part in the “small” stuff in life.  It’s a great way to pull yourself out of auto-pilot and really appreciate what’s right in front of you.

Today I’m continuing that challenge and have some more ideas for you:

Make time for a friend who “gets you.”

Feel the grass under your feet.

Write a note of affection for someone you care about and strategically place it where they’ll stumble across it.

Say thank you to a police officer, firefighter or emergency medical services person for helping keep the public safe.

Have FUN!

Have you enjoyed any small stuff lately?

About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Small Stuff Challenge (part 3)

  1. Kat Cowley says:

    Christine this is JUST what I needed today! I actually went on a walk with some girlfriends this past weekend and we past some firemen stopping traffic momentarily. As we passed, we did the usual, “Hi, how are you?” “good” spill when one of my friends stopped and looked at the fireman directly and said, “Thank you for your service.” It made me realize how often I bypass opportunities to say a genuine THANK YOU. I was so happy she put that on my radar. I’m also going to nab your suggestion of making time for a friend that “gets” at you for an Uplifting Reflection 🙂 That’s a good one!

    • So glad this hit home for you today! I agree – it’s easy to get caught up in our lives and, in a way, take people and their contributions for granted. As I wrote my post, I reminded myself of that. 🙂 And as for friends, well, we’re so lucky if even one person truly gets us, right?

  2. juliep2012 says:

    I agree with it all and it’s a lovely thought. Except I would never thank the police as they normally cause more harm than good. Also take some time out doing something just for you e.g. reading, walking, riding a bike…

    • Thanks so much for commenting. So true – “me time” is such a great thing. I find walking to be a great way to decompress and actually notice what’s around me. I disagree with respect to the police, though it’s unfortunate if you’ve had (or seen) negative experience with them.

  3. Couldn’t agree more!

  4. louise says:

    What I already do is the “note of affection” but haven’t done in a while-thanks for the reminder to take a minute. I really like the one about thanking those who serve, I’m going to give that a try and I think I might just join the kids and jump on the bed instead of discouraging them from it for once!

    • Yay! I try to let the kids just “be kids” every now and again – e.g. letting them chase each other around our house – without always intervening. They have so much fun, and as long as no one’s getting hurt, in my books it’s a good way for them to burn energy and be “in the moment.”

Leave a Reply

