Enough

You know the woman who seems to have it all together?  The one with poise, smooth beautiful hair, flawless makeup, manicured nails, stylish outfits and perfectly chosen accessories?  The one that looks like she’s ready to take on the world?

That’s not me.  That’s so not me.

I’m the one who rushes around in a constant flurry, so I’m pretty sure I rarely look poised.  Plus I’m a bit wacky, which makes poise even less likely.  My hair is smooth only when tamed by a flat iron, my makeup is minimal, jeans form the foundation of my outfit, and my shirt is often adorned with a smudge – noticed too late to fix – from my 14-month-old burying his face in my shoulder.  And my accessories usually consist of a well-loved silver pendant with a pair of tiny feet on it that my husband gave me after having our first son, and a pair of earrings he gave me on our 10th anniversary.

Nope, I’m not the woman who, at least on the surface, has it all together.  And I’m usually totally cool with that.  I like my quirkiness and have learned to embrace, or for the most part accept, my imperfections.

Then there was the day a couple of weeks ago.

I was at the gym for an evening workout class and felt absolutely exhausted.  Like if someone blew on me I would fall over.  It was a tough day.  My workout friend Lisa was experiencing a similar day.  So we were two usually-positive people in very foul moods.

There was a mirrored wall at the end of the room that gave us full opportunity to be critical of ourselves.  We didn’t acknowledge that we actually dragged ourselves to a workout class when we could have stayed home; we were much too cranky for that.  Instead, we chose to point out our ‘imperfections.’  (Ever have those days)?  But we had no problem genuinely pointing out each other’s positives and we happily cheered each other on.

Why is it that we celebrate the positive traits and accomplishments of others, but often don’t even recognize them in ourselves?

Well, Lisa and I somehow managed to motivate each other through the workout and decided by the end of it that we rock!  Forget being critical.  There’s no point.  Let’s celebrate the good stuff.

You know what?  Maybe I’m not totally ‘put together,’ but I’m fun, spirited, adventurous, positive and genuine.  And that’s enough.

How do you get past the moments when you’re overly critical of yourself?  Would love to hear from you!

About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enough

  1. Lisa says:

    Luv u girl…I was having a little pity party for myself today, and thought this is silly. I remembered your blog, and thought you would have something positive for me to read. Wow was I surprise to see you literally did lol. Thank you its just what I needed. xo

  2. So glad it helped! Hope tomorrow is a much better day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

