My Cozy Little Plan

Ahhhh, autumn.  My favourite season.  Blue skies, crisp air, spectacular colours, the scent of smoke curling out of chimneys and the crunch of fallen leaves under my feet.

A time for new beginnings.  A time for fall festivals, visits to the pumpkin patch, crisp apples and pumpkin bread (mmm…. I make this every year).

It’s also time for a strangely controversial yet rather ordinary household fabric.  Flannel.

In my experience, people are usually pretty passionate about flannel.  They love it or can’t stand it.  No real
in-between.

Let me come clean up front: I love flannel.  It’s cozy.  It’s soft.  It’s like a big hug.  What’s not to love?  (Unless you live in a hot climate, of course).

Well, my husband Chris is of an entirely different opinion.  The word itself conjures up nightmares of flailing back and forth in bed, uncomfortably hot, or more importantly, images of granny gowns and huge fuzzy slippers.  Apparently not sexy.

I can see his point.

I have no desire to scare him away with granny gowns even though I tend to get cold really easily (in winter, a mere touch of my feet in bed makes him recoil – even when I’ve had a pedicure).  So, in the interests of keeping him nearby and at the same time staying warm myself, I devised a secret plan a few years back.  The Flannel Plan.

It goes something like this.

As the weather starts to chill, I casually put a flannel sheet on the bed when changing it.  Only one flannel sheet, mind you: this is critical to avoid instant detection.  (The fitted sheet seems the best bet, that way the top sheet is still nice and cool).  When Chris first gets into bed and pulls the covers over him, he feels comfortable but not so hot that he takes particular notice of the switch.

A couple of weeks later, once he’s become accustomed to sleeping on a divinely soft and cozy fitted sheet, I change the top sheet to… (insert wicked cackle)… flannel too.  Ah, bliss.

When the top sheet goes on he typically notices it, but is too tired to bother making a fuss. He says he’ll try living with it for a bit.  But after a few days – dare I say it – he actually becomes attached to the flannel!

Now, I have to point out that I’m not entirely insensitive to his flannel concerns.  After all, I don’t even think of putting a flannel pillowcase on his side of the bed!

The Flannel Plan worked brilliantly the past couple of years.  This year, however, he somehow figured me out.  After the fitted sheet went on, he looked at me sideways with a smirk and said, “I know what you’re up to…”

Arrrrgh.

Then he just smiled and got into bed.

What about you?  What are your thoughts on flannel?  And do you have any fun little household secrets?  Do tell!


About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Life, Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Cozy Little Plan

  1. Louise says:

    Ah Christine….I can tell you were an English major, such elegant writing on such an ordinary object-flannel! I love flannel…but not only do I use the sheets, I have to admit I also wear the full flannel p.j’s NOT a granny gown though, I’d never go THAT far) and to top it off, for the feet, fuzzy socks-sexy or not, this is my most cozy winter bed time attire! I do remember once staying at your Aunt’s house as a guest and utterly enjoyed the silk sheets she had on that bed-now those are sexy! They would be up there with the flannel I have to say, although I have never owned any…perhaps I should consider it to contrast the winter bedding/night time attire. That settles it then, I’ll put on silk sheets in summer (and silk p.j’s), flannel in winter!

    Now for my fun little household secrets: Hubby always put extra garbage bags (and twist ties) in the bottom of the waste baskets so that they are always there when you take the full bag out. I put small bowls of onions in each bedroom near the bed (I know, stinky) but apparently they absorb bacteria and so I’ll just do this for the winter to help cut down on the colds…I think it’s helping. And, since hubby does not like anything creamy to eat somehow by putting something crunchy with it, he doesn’t seem to mind or notice. For example he would never eat my poppy seed chicken dish if he knew there was a fair bit of sour cream in it but since it has Ritz crackers on top, he’s o.k. with the “mushiness” of the cream stuff since the “crunchiness” disguises it. If he asks what’s in it tell him it’s a secret…as I do with several dishes, and O never let him see me making it of course! That’s all for now

Leave a Reply

