In the Moment

The other day my five-year-old said something simple yet profound.  “Mommy!  There’s no rush.”

Hmmmm, let me absorb that.  Mommy, there’s no rush.

He was right.

We were pulling out of the driveway and I was in a tizzy because we were running late.  But really, late for what?  We weren’t heading to some save-the-world meeting, we weren’t en route to assist in an emergency.  We weren’t even heading to kindergarten.

But this is what happens to me: I seem to get into a mild state of anxiety as soon as I think I’m late for something or someone.  Doesn’t really matter how minor the situation is.  I can almost feel my pulse speed up and my irritation factor go up a notch.

Is that what most of us do these days?  Rush through our schedules – and life – on auto pilot?  Run around here and there, check email and voicemail ridiculously often, juggle the various aspects of daily life – instead of focusing on what’s actually happening in the moment?

Anyway, there I was, feeling late, and BAM!  My son brought me right back to where I was supposed to be… the present.  It was an important reminder.

So, instead of worrying about where I’m headed or where I’ve been, or what I may do later or have already done, I’m going to focus – or try very hard, at least – on where I am and what I am doing.  Right here, right now.

It’s time to look at what’s right in front of me.  A child wanting to play.  A friend needing an ear.  A star-filled sky.

Enjoy it – this moment will never be back.

And hey, there’s no rush.

What about you – are you always in a hurry?  (How) do you remind yourself to slow down and notice what’s happening “in the moment?”  I’d love to hear from you!

About Christine

Positive thinker. Writer. Personal empowerment coach. Lover of travel and adventure, oceans and mountains, and the energy of a big city.Oh, and deep belly laughs, sappy movies and spirited conversations. Believer in limitless human potential.
This entry was posted in Children, Inspiration, Life, Motherhood, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In the Moment

  1. Kira says:

    What a lovely post. So true! It’s easy to get caught up in an endless to-do list. Enjoying the scent of the fall air and hearing the wind in the trees brings me back to the moment.

  2. alexdk3 says:

    yes, live in the moment! that is so important, each moment is precious unless we are always looking ahead (or backwards). great post.

  3. Nancy says:

    Its like you put this here for me to read! A reminder- hey Nance, slow down! There’s no rush! Tell J that that will be my mantra for tomorrow and if I’m not so good at it, maybe we should all get together and play awhile!

  4. Nance, I’m glad! I’ll let him know. Keep me posted on how the day went.

  5. Pingback: I’m giving birth again! | The Brighter Side of Life

  6. Christine, I love this. Kids have such wisdom, don’t they? I’m sad to say that at 11 and 14, mine are beginning to lose sight of enjoying present moments just as I am finally beginning to appreciate them! Circle of life, I guess! Why aren’t we born knowing everything?!

    • Christine says:

      Thanks, Ida Mae! Yes, kids are so wise. They call it like it is, and tend to see things so clearly. As we grow up we somehow add layers of complication and confusion over that simplicity… until we later see the world through the eyes of our own kids and the veil is lifted. Yep, circle of life. *sigh*

  7. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Brighter Side! 5 Highlights from the Past Year | The Brighter Side of Life

Leave a Reply

